Home Page
Home Page

Meet the Governors

The Governing Body


The Governing Body are responsible for overseeing the running of the school. There are a mixture of parents, staff, church and community representatives on the body.


The Governors produce the School Improvement Plan every year, and this forms the basis for the teachers and children to move learning forward within the school as well as considering other aspects of the school and its grounds.

Details of this improvement plan are available. Please contact the Headteacher.


The main aspects of the current plan are: Mathematics ( Subject review); English ( including phonics and Talk for Writing); intervention for pupils and individuals; building fabric, including installation of new boilers.


Committee structure

The governing body is formed of three committees: Teaching and Learning, Resources, and SIAMS (Statutory Inspection of Anglican and Methodist Schools)

The Governors

Governor Type Term Length Start of term End of term

Dr Peter Smith

Chair of Governors

Foundation Governor 4 Years 02/09/16 01/09/20
Rev. Prebendary Alan MacDonald Foundation Governor   Ex Officio Ex Officio
Mrs Elizabeth Milward Foundation Governor 4 Years 23/01/14 22/01/18
Mrs Karen Devaraj LEA 4 Years 17/01/14 16/01/18
Mr Richard White Co-opted Governor 4 Years 06/04/14 05/04/18
Mrs Joan Park Co-opted Governor 4 Years 01/09/14 31/08/18
Mr Andrew Hosking Co-opted Governor 4 Years 01/09/16 31/08/20

Mr Josh Wright


Co-opted Governor 4 Years 17/09/15 16/09/19
Mr Richard Somerwill Co-opted Governor 4 Years 14/12/17 13/12/21
Mrs Sally Back Parent Governor 4 Years 17/10/17 16/10/21
Mrs Hilary Stevens Parent Governor 4 Years 14/12/17 13/12/21
Mr Christopher Edwards Parent Governor 4 Years 14/12/17 13/12/21
Mr Andy Mathers Parent Governor 4 Years 07/11/16 06/11/20
Mrs Gill Adnams Head Teacher   01/09/14  
Mrs Julie Winter Staff Governor 4 Years 18/12/15 17/12/19
Mrs Kathy Little Associate Member 4 Years 01/09/16 31/08/20
Dr Philip Whateley Clerk to the Governors      


Committees and attendance at full governing body in the last academic year

Governor Committees Link Governor Attendance
Mrs Karen Deveraj Teaching and Learning (SIP)  

1 out of 2

Rev. Prebendary Alan MacDonald Resources   1 out of 2
Mrs Elizabeth Milward Teaching and Learning   1 out of 2
 Dr Peter Smith

Resources (Personnel)

Teaching and Learning (SIAMS)

  2 out of 2
Mr Richard White Teaching and Learning (H/T Perf Mgt)   2 out of 2
Mrs Joan Park Resources (Finance)   1 out of 2
Mr Andrew Hosking Resources (Premises)   2 out of 2
Mr Josh Wright Resources (Chair & IT)   0 out of 2
Mrs Kathy Little (Associate) Teaching and Learning (Curric./SIAMS)   2 out of 2
Vacancy Resources (H/T Perform. Mgt.)    
Vacancy Resources (Finance)    
Mr Andy Mathers     2 out of 2
Vacancy Teaching and Learning SEN & PTA  
Vacancy Teaching and Learning (High Attain.)    
Mrs Gill Adnams Teaching and Learning / Resources   2 out of 2
Mrs Julie Winter Teaching and Learning (Safeguarding)   2 out of 2
Mrs Sally Back     1 out of 1

*Attendance is number of times attended out of number of possible attendances.


Governors who have left in the last 12 months

Name Status Member Start-End Date
Mr Peter Lewis-Bending Parent Governor Member 25/02/16 - 22/06/17
Mrs Melanie Youel Parent Governor Member 25/10/13 - 22/06/17
Mrs Lucy Mottram Parent Governor Member 25/10/13 - 24/10/17
Mrs Lisa Bradner Co-opted Governor Member 26/10/16 - 28/09/17


Summary of Registered Interests

Name Type of Governor Appointing Body Office Current term Committee(s) Registered Interests
Mrs Lisa Bradner Co-opted Governor Governing Board   26/10/16 - 25/10/20 Resources Wife of contractor to school - D.B. Fencing, Silverton.